Sketchbook ideas

I am excited by the idea of building and creating my own sketchbook, particularly because it will give me the opportunity to experiment with different surface materials as well as incorporating some fabric sketches that would normally have to be glued into a sketchbook.

Using the basic idea of a photo album I have managed to buy some posts that are capped with a screw. I have made covers using cardboard covered in a strong white cotton fabric glued onto it to create the hinge.

hinge posts

sketch Book cover

I plan to explore the theme of loss with this sketchbook… emptiness and what is left when we are gone. I think at the moment that this will be the theme for my major project but I will use the time working on this sketchbook to decide.

 

Leave a Reply

