Drawing ideas together

From the original story several items struck me:

  • The constant memory of the horror of what Henrietta saw must have lived with her for the rest of her life.
    • Visual scars – metaphorical scars – mental scars
  • Susannah took in sewing to support her family.
  • Another example of a life spiralled out of control. Emptiness – Loss – Despair
scars Sketch

Sketches of scars and sutures as a means of repair.

An event in life can cause many consequences.

One action many consequences

One action can grow without support with many consequences

Without support or help things spiral out of control.

I started to imagine the voice of Henrietta…

I saw her do it – I didn’t know what was happening – It was awful – I was so scared – I didn’t know what was happening – what happens now – where do I go – I can’t bear it – it was so sharp and so quick – she faltered – don’t make me go – I can’t live there – she doesn’t like us – she shouts – I never do anything right – I cry and cry – I can’t help myself – she’s sending me away – I don’t know where – I’m scared…………………….

I next started to think about creating stitched scars that somehow incorporated some stitched words.

Scar_noWords

Stitched scar using scrap fabric and machine stitching

Rough stitched words with scar like line.

Rough stitched words with scar like line.

rough scrap of fabric machine stitched with words

rough scrap of fabric machine stitched with words

Experiment with stitching that is darker than the fabric

Experiment with stitching that is darker than the fabric

back to stitching only but on a grey back ground.

back to stitching only but on a grey back ground.

Leave a Reply

