Personal identity – initial thoughts

I am regularly drawn to personal issues and thoughts from my past as inspiration for my work, often in quite a cathartic way, as a way of working through things in my head and hopefully resolving things. With this in mind I felt drawn to this project.

Several years ago I lost both my parents within 6 months of each other and they were both quite young, I have had a pretty strong fear of death most of my life but this became more pronounced after their deaths. I did try counselling but felt that confronting the realities of death head on, could help. I have been reading books about mortuary work and looking at pictures, which is the starting point of my work for this project.

We are very closeted from death in our culture nowadays, it is so hidden from us, but it is an inevitable part of all of our lives something from which we cannot escape. It is this inevitability that I would like to explore as well as the reality of our own deaths.

Leave a Reply

