Shelly Goldsmith

Having started to think about my piece for project 2 and using the child’s dress as a basis for it, I am reminded of Shelly Goldsmith but more particularly her piece titled ‘Erupted Cocktail Dress’. For me this piece is about the emotional masks people sometimes wear in public, and explores the idea of making these outwardly visible. Her theme is quite different I think, but visually the use of a dress as the basis and the placing of the Rorschach over the heart are similar.

I love Shelly Goldsmiths work, I find her pieces poignant and deeply moving with little or no explanation. There is a fascinating sadness that exists whilst conveying such a strong sense of the passing of time with the stories of lives lived.

Leave a Reply

