Funnel

Following on from spirals, I was particularly taken with the visualization of funnels as a metaphor. I want to explore and experiment with ways of creating a structural funnel to create the sense of staring into the abyss.

Anish Kapoor – Void 1989

Starting sketch ideas…

 

funnelsketch1

funnelsketch

I had been using home made gesso to create fabric pages for my sketchbook. I felt that the structure and stiffness that this give to fabric could be used in a structural way rather than purely textural.

I started with some experiments by laying fabric over yoghurt pots etc and painting the gesso over them to see if the structure held.

gesso1 gesso2

I was really pleased with these initial samples and realised that there was some similarity with Gizella Warburton’s work

 

 

Leave a Reply

