Texture

Rather like using oxides when I worked on my ceramic site specific pieces for Bodmin Jail, I looked at accentuating the texture of the cloth through the gesso.

  • I tried coffee to give an aged effect but I don’t think this works in this instance, I want a sense of immediacy not age.
  • I tried black poster paint but this is too thin in consistency and is difficult to add to as it is water soluble.
  • I tried thick black acrylic and when dry used white acrylic lightly over it as if to add highlights, this just didn’t feel right either.

The best and simplest of these experiments was just to use a dry brush with a small amount of black acrylic on it brushed over the textures and folds

texture

texture2

Leave a Reply

