Thinking about display

I have been considering the various ways I could display this piece of work…

It could simply be placed on a plinth, but I don’t think that this would aid the understanding of the piece. It could also be mounted or framed, but this feels too simplistic for this.

I started to search on pinterest for different ways of displaying and presenting art and found this board of Ines Seidel’s. I was particularly drawn to this image:

It started me thinking about a wire support, a way of raising the piece up so that it no longer touches the ground. A reference to our ideas of heaven or another place, rising above the world.

I managed to curl a piece of wire around a pot to create a perfect circle. I needed to think of a stand for this wire support. I considered setting it into concrete, but that felt too harsh too solid. I also didn’t want a flat square, plank like, piece of wood. So I went out searching for a found piece of wood that would work.

Branches are also dead, reminders of trees, they are organic and can change over time. This felt like the right direction.

I found a perfect piece and ran the wire through a natural fissure within it.

display of paper clay bowl

display of paper clay bowl

display of paper clay bowl

I will leave this out on display and consider it over the next week or so to really decide if this works, but at the moment I am quite pleased with it.

Because of the roughness of the paper clay and the general imperfections it has an organic feel which is supported with the use of wood.

 

One thought on “Thinking about display

  1. Pingback: T1-MMT-P5-s2 OCA students – Collections of vessels | Fibres of Being

Leave a Reply

