Revisiting ceramic techniques

After the success of my bodmin prison piece I am drawn to continue to explore these techniques and ideas further. I feel that the outcome really goes the furthest to summing up my ideas of loss and the remains left.

I have previously resisted further experiments because of the requirement to attend a ceramics course or somehow find a kiln I could use. However I found a book in the £3 bookshop in Oxford about smoke firing. Smoke firing is a low firing technique that can be done at home in either a barbeque or a garden incinerator. This find is really exciting, the ability to continue to work through my ideas without huge cost. I also really like the unpredictable colouration that is achieved through this process. It has a sense of time to it, adding a historic  museum bone like quality.

Leave a Reply

