Struggles

I have found this main project has torn me and created stuggles within me that I have found quite difficult. My problems have stemmed from trying to keep on a ‘percieved’ textiles path but feeling drawn towards materials and techniques that are ‘percieved’ as not textiles. Wanting to satisfy potential assessors has continually been in the back of my mind but I have felt very materials led.

With 5 pieces of work competed looking at the work together, the pieces that are most resonant to me and convey my ideas best are the items that explore impressions within a material, my clay and paper clay pieces. In hindsight I now wish I had had the confidence to completely explore this idea as I have other materials in mind that I would like to explore in relation to this.

I do feel that since the inital material could be described as textile, and the ideas behind my work being about the memory of what was, I personally feel comfortable with placing this work within a textile context. But would an assessor feel the same?

Leave a Reply

